

10 DOWNING STREET

Press Notice

MINISTERIAL APPOINTMENTS

The Queen has been pleased to approve the following appointments:-

Lord President of the Council

Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs

Secretary of State for the Home Department

Chancellor of the Exchequer

Secretary of State for Energy

Secretary of State for the Environment

Lord Privy Seal

Secretary of State for Trade and Industry

Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

Secretary of State for Transport

Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

Chief Secretary to the Treasury

The Right Honourable William Whitelaw, CH, MC, MP

The Right Honourable Sir Geoffrey Howe, QC, MP

The Right Honourable Leon Brittan, QC, MP

The Right Honourable Nigel Lawson, MP

The Right Honourable Peter Walker, MBE, MP

The Right Honourable Patrick Jenkin, MP

The Right Honourable John Biffen, MP

The Right Honourable Cecil Parkinson, MP

The Right Honourable The Lord Cockfield

The Right Honourable Tom King, MP

The Right Honourable Michael Jopling, MP

Peter Rees, Esquire, QC, MP

The above Ministers will be members of the Cabinet.

Telephone 01-930 4433

the Treasury

Parliamentary Secretary to John Wakeham, Esquire, FCA, MP

The Right Honourable Francis Pym, MC, MP, and The Right Honourable David Howell, MP, have tendered their resignations as, respectively, Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs and Secretary of State for Transport.

11 June 1983

NOTES FOR EDITORS

A list of all the members of the Cabinet is attached.

Mr Whitelaw will be Leader of the House of Lords. The Queen has been pleased to approve that the dignity of a Viscountcy. of the United Kingdom be conferred on him.

Mr Biffen will be Leader of the House of Commons.

As Secretary of State for Trade and Industry, Mr Parkinson will be in charge of a Department of Trade and Industry which will be responsible for the functions of the present Department of Industry and the commercial relations and trade functions of the present Department of Trade. The regulatory functions of the Department of Trade - including responsibility for consumer affairs, company law, companies registration, competition policy, the insolvency service, insurance, and the Patent Office - together with certain regulatory responsibilities previously intended to be discharged by the Department of Industry in the field of telecommunications and by the Home Office in the field of radio frequency regulation, will be brought together in an office which will report to a Minister for Corporate and Consumer Affairs under the direction of the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry. Responsibility for the work of the civil aviation and shipping divisions of the present Department of Trade will be assigned to the Secretary of State for Transport.

Transfer of Functions Orders will be laid before Parliament as required.

The Queen has been pleased to approve that Mr Wakeham be sworn of Her Majesty's most honourable Privy Council.

The Cabinet

- Prime Minister, First Lord of the Treasury and Minister for the Civil Service
- Lord President of the Council and Leader of the House of Lords

Lord Chancellor

- Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs
- Secretary of State for the Home Department
- Chancellor of the Exchequer
- Secretary of State for Education and Science
- Secretary of State for Northern Ireland
- Secretary of State for Energy
- Secretary of State for Defence
- Secretary of State for Scotland
- Secretary of State for Wales
- Secretary of State for the Environment
- Lord Privy Seal and Leader of the House of Commons
 - Secretary of State for Social Services
 - Secretary of State for Employment
 - Secretary of State for Trade and Industry
 - Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster
 - Secretary of State for Transport

Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

Chief Secretary to the Treasury Peter Rees, Esquire, QC MP

The Rt Hon Margaret Thatcher MP

- The Rt Hon William Whitelaw CH MC MP
- The Rt Hon The Lord Hailsham of St Marylebone CH

The Rt Hon Sir Geoffrey Howe QC MP

The Rt Hon Leon Brittan QC MP

- The Rt Hon Nigel Lawson MP
- The Rt Hon Sir Keith Joseph Bt MP
- The Rt Hon James Prior MP
- The Rt Hon Peter Walker MBE MP The Rt Hon Michael Heseltine MP The Rt Hon George Younger TD MP
 - The Rt Hon Nicholas Edwards MP
 - The Rt Hon Patrick Jenkin MP

The Rt Hon John Biffen MP

The Rt Hon Norman Fowler MP

The Rt Hon Norman Tebbit MP

The Rt Hon Cecil Parkinson MP

The Rt Hon The Lord Cockfield

The Rt Hon Tom King MP The Rt Hon Michael Jopling MP